I Have No Secrets by Penny Joelson

 

Jemma knows who did the murder. She knows because he told her. And she can’t tell anyone.

Fourteen-year-old Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature, and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change…

A page-turning thriller seen through the eyes of a unique narrator, this is a truly original, heart-rending and compulsive book for young adult readers. Perfect for fans of WonderThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time and Looking for JJ.

 

Write your reviews in the comments below.  (You need to be logged in).

10 thoughts on “I Have No Secrets by Penny Joelson

  1. I thought that this waste of the best books that i have ever read! i highly recommend this book. it is about a completely paralysed girl and how she copes with every day life in a foster home. it also raises awareness about the new types of communication skills that scientists are creating. it also shows us how lucky we are to be the way that we are! it also includes a very peculiar murder mystery. it shows that if only we would listen to everyone big and small, paralysed or not, the world would be a better place.

  2. Priscilla – 8Q

    This book is incredible it really shows us that all things are possible. Jemma is a very determined girl despite her disability. She really showed courage and endurance and the technology which she received at the end just rounded off the story. I think that the author did an amazing job of building relationships in this book. Sarah and Jemma’s relationship was so important because Dan (Sarah’s boyfriend) was always coming over and if he hadn’t have been he wouldn’t have told Jemma the secret. This led to Jemma knowing that Sarah was kidnapped by Dan. With this new technology Jemma finally has the ability to ask for things to talk to her family and her twin it’s incredible.

  3. Barbara
    I really loved this book because it has a very unique narrator, who shows the difficulties with having a disability. Her struggle with meeting her sister, finding a way to communicate and her terrifying secret.

  4. Matilda
    I really enjoyed this book because it was gripping and interesting to read. Also I liked hoe it has a disabled person as the hero because normally most books do not have disabled heroes

  5. This book is very moving and inspirational.It is about the importance of having a voice. Jemma is unable to move nor speak. Her carer has a boyfriend who has everyone fooled and he tells her he has murdered someone, but because of her speech impediment she is unable to express her knowledge which could save lives. This book takes us along with her on her journey of finding a way of communicating.

    Noluthando , Year 11

  6. Dulcie Mae – 8Q

    I have no secrets is a very emotional book as it involves an adopted girl Jemma who has many disabilities that stops her from talking and moving. Jemma lives a life of not being able to tell anyone anything but that doesn’t stop other people, many people tell her secrets knowing she cannot spread them. Jemma experiences a lot of surprising issues but cannot explain her feeling. This book is a murder mystery and I think anyone who likes adventure and success should read this as it really helps me understand how miserable it is to be disabled and we should give them much more attention and help, but disabilities does not stop you from success.

  7. Emily – 7R
    Amazing is the only word I have for this book!
    It’s only taken me six days to read and I’ve never read a book that long in that short amount of time. Every night I’ve wanted to read more and more it was so intriguing I just couldn’t put it down. This book is really inspiring and it teaches you about different disabilities. I don’t want to spoil it but there are so many unexpected twists that you don’t expect but in the end it all gets solved the baddies get put in jail and Jemma the main character, a girl with severe cerebral palsy who can’t talk or walk has her dream come true…… To find out more you’ll have to read the book I’d really recommend it to any keen reader looking for something a bit different.
    I rate it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️!

  8. Jessica – 7P
    Though I have only reached to page 46, chapter 8, I am enjoying this book very much. It is ,so far , very intriguing and I want to read many more chapters. I wont spoil it but it has got a brilliant twist and I cannot wait to read more! I recommend this book as it tells the story on many troubling disabilities that some of us will never face .So far if I was to rate it, it would me a 5 out of 5.

  9. Emily-7R
    Even though I have only read up to chapter 5 so far “I have no secrets” is such a great book and I love all the unexpected twists and turns that are included in such short spaces of text. I feel the book gives really strong messages about physical illness and disability. I really hope in the end she can “have no secrets” and share the secret she got told.

  10. I Have No Secrets is a very interesting book that features a girl who can’t speak or move which is due to an illness. There is a lot of things that she hears that are very important but thanks to her terrible illness she is unable to tell anyone about it. One day a man tells her something that could save many people but of course she cannot tell anyone however when she gets an opportunity to finally speak she can finally “have no secrets”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *